CliSAP successfully finished in 2018. Climate research continues in the Cluster of Excellence "CLICCS".

Lewis Fry Richardson Medal for Klaus Fraedrich


Prof. Dr. Klaus Fraedrich, Meteorological Institute, University of Hamburg, and Max Planck Fellow at the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology will receive the Lewis Fry Richardson Medal 2010 from the European Geosciences Union (EGU). This honor was established by the EGU in 1997 by the interdisciplinary working group on non-linear processes in geophysics (IWG) to commemorate the scientific work of Lewis Fry Richardson. The medal will be presented during the EGU General Assembly in Vienna at the beginning of May.

Klaus Fraedrich is head of the working group "Theoretical Meteorolog"; at the Meteorological Institute of the University of Hamburg. This unit stands for a wide range of research fields such as non-linear system analysis, climate modelling and theoretical concepts. The internationally recognized working group closely collaborates with oceanographic, meteorological and physical institutions from all over the world. Klaus Fraedrich has released more than 150 publications and won several prizes: besides the "Gay Lussac Prize", he has been granted the Max Planck Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and was also member of the German Advisory Council on Global Change. Moreover, the German Climate Research Programme´s only junior team working on palaeoclimate modelling, which is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), was established in his department.

Opens external link in new windowMore...

Prof. Dr. Klaus Fraedrich
Tel: +49 +40 42838-5064