CliSAP successfully finished in 2018. Climate research continues in the Cluster of Excellence "CLICCS".

Science Colloquium honouring the lifework of Prof. Jan Backhaus and Prof. Detlef Quadfasel


“Shelf Sea Dynamics, Regional Ocean Circulation and Deep Overflows”

On the occasion of the retirement of Professor Jan Backhaus and Professor Detlef Quadfasel, we cordially invite you to attend the Science Colloquium with the focuses on Shelf Sea Dynamics, Regional Ocean Circulation and Deep Overflows honouring the lifework and achievement of the two professors. The colloquium will be held

Friday, March 4th 2016, 13:00 – 18:00 (following with reception venue)
in Lecture Hall ESA-J, University Main Building
Edmund-Siemers-Allee 1, D-20146 Hamburg

During the colloquium invited speakers from several countries will present state-of-the-art research results addressing modelling of shelf seas, the dynamics of the deep Nordic overflows as well as the management of large-scale research projects and the German research vessels.

We hope to see you at the colloquium! Please email to inform us about your availability. If you have any questions, please feel free to get in touch with us per email or call at +49 (0)40 42838 7478.

Preliminary program

13.00 Registration

13:30 - 13:50   
Welcome speeches   
Prof. H. Graener, Prof. D. Stammer, Prof. M. Schulz

13:50 - 14:30   
Theme 1: The progress of shelf sea modelling, Prof. emer. J. Sündermann
Theme 2: Large-scale ocean circulation, Prof. emer. J. Meincke
Theme 3: Management of research vessels, Mr. K. Küper, Mr. K. Bergmann

14:30 – 15:00    Coffee break (served in Foyer)

15:00 - 16:00
Theme 4: Dynamics of the Nordic Overflows, Prof. B. Hansen et al.
Theme 5a: Application of HAMSOM, Dr. N. Carbajal
Theme 5b: Process modelling, Prof. J. Kämpf

16:00 - 18:00   
Theme 6: Regional ocean circulation and mixing processes, Dr. K. Latarius, Dr. M. Dengler
Theme 7: Interaction between hydrodynamics  and ecosystem, Prof. J.M. Beckers, Prof. M. St. John
Student Council and wrap up, Students and moderators   

18.00 - 22.00
Evening reception (served in Foyer)

The organizational team:
Dr. Thomas Pohlmann,, +49 (0)40 428 38 3547
Dr. Kerstin Jochumsen,, +49 (0)40 428 38 7070
Dagmar Hainbucher,, +49 (0)40 428 38 5745
Chenbo Guo,, +49 (0)40 428 38 7478