CliSAP successfully finished in 2018. Climate research continues in the Cluster of Excellence "CLICCS".

Wladimir Peter Köppen Award

First Koeppen Award was given to Mrs Hui Wan in 2009.

Each year, CliSAP nominates excellent doctoral theses in climate and Earth system research for the Wladimir Peter Köppen Award. The award is worth €5,000 and targets excellent doctoral dissertations with a focus on climate research.

The award jury

The award jury consists of external specialists with great expertise in areas relevant to the topics nominated. All jury members are selected by CliSAP’s Scientific Steering Committee (SSC). The jury reviews all doctoral theses before completing comparative evaluations and providing the Steering Committee with recommendations. The final decision is based on the jury’s assessment.

Application requirements

The annual Wladimir Peter Köppen Award targets talented young researchers who have completed their doctorate in a German-speaking country. The doctoral dissertation can be either in German or English. At the time of application, the completion of the doctoral thesis may not date back more than two years. The maximum age for participation is thirty years.

All doctoral supervisors, professors, and research group leaders are welcome to nominate doctoral dissertations.

The closing date for applications for the Wladimir Peter Köppen Award 2018 is
30th September 2018

Dr. Ingo Harms
CliSAP/CEN Office
Universität Hamburg
Grindelberg 5
20144 Hamburg, Germany

Tel. +49 (0)40 42838-4206
Fax +49 (0)40 42838-4938